TaxJar pricing in 2026: the order tiers, the filing fees, and what it adds up to

Published:
September 18, 2026
Research checked:
September 18, 2026
Written by
Ari Goldstein
Head of Growth, Zamp
TaxJar homepage, September 2026

Zamp publishes this page, and Zamp sells a managed sales tax service that competes with TaxJar and Avalara. TaxJar and Avalara figures come from those vendors' own pages, support articles, and terms, with the dates they were checked. Customer reviews are quoted, dated, and linked. Claims about Zamp come from Zamp's own pages and are linked as such.

In this article
H2 headers

At a glance

TaxJar publishes two plans priced by monthly order volume. Starter runs $39, $59, $99, $219, and $319 a month at 200, 500, 1,000, 2,500, and 5,000-plus orders. Professional runs $99, $249, $499, $1,199, and $1,599 at the same tiers. Filing is separate: two credits a year on Starter and four on Professional, then $50 or $55 per return. Registrations are $299 per state. Every sale, refund, and return counts as an order.

Most sales tax vendors make you call sales. TaxJar publishes a price and hands you a slider: drag it to your order volume, read the number. Ten seconds, done.

The number is real. It is also about a third of the bill. Filing is charged per return once a small annual credit allowance runs out. Registrations are charged per state. And the meter that decides which tier you land on counts refunds, returns, and orders in states you don't even collect in. Below: the whole published ladder, the two lines that sit beside it, and how the total lands next to Avalara's per-state model.

Disclosure: Zamp publishes this page and sells a managed sales tax service that competes with TaxJar. Every TaxJar figure below comes from TaxJar's own pricing page, support articles, or terms, checked on September 18, 2026, and anything about Zamp is linked to the Zamp page it comes from.

Four things to settle before you pick a tier, because each one changes the annual number more than the plan choice does.

Your real order count, including refunds. Pull twelve months of sales, refunds, and returns, not just sales. Add API calls divided by ten if you will use the calculation API on Professional.

Your filing calendar, not your state count. Ten states filing monthly is 120 returns; ten states filing quarterly is 40. At $55 a return that difference is $4,400 a year.

Whether a bundle pays for itself. Bundles need an annual subscription and are non-refundable. Ask for the price of the specific bundle size you need before you commit to annual billing.

Who handles a notice. Notice management is not listed as an included service on either plan, and no accuracy or penalty guarantee appears in TaxJar's terms. If a state disagrees with a return, decide now whose problem that is.

The published price ladder

Two plans, Starter and Professional, five order tiers each. Starter: $39 a month at 200 orders, $59 at 500, $99 at 1,000, $219 at 2,500, $319 at 5,000 or more. Professional: $99, $249, $499, $1,199, $1,599 at those same five tiers. Annual billing takes 10% or more off either one. The pricing page only ever shows one tier, so we walked the slider from end to end to get the full ladder.

Starter is the self-serve plan: a free 30-day trial, no credit card, up to three data import integrations, email support with a guaranteed response time, and two AutoFile credits a year. Professional adds up to ten integrations, an archive of historical sales tax data, phone support, a dedicated onboarding specialist and Customer Success Manager, and four AutoFile credits a year. The Professional button says Contact sales rather than Start a trial, so the higher plan runs through a person.

What TaxJar counts as an order

Here is where budgets go wrong. An order, to TaxJar, is each sale, refund, or return imported into the product. Sent to a state you don't collect in? Counts. Sold through a marketplace that already remitted the tax? Counts. Refunded last week? That's a second order on the meter. On Professional, API tax calculations and rate lookups pile on at a tenth of an order each, so 10,000 calls adds another 1,000 orders.

Going over is not a penalty. TaxJar charges a flex fee, the difference between your plan and the tier that matches that month's volume, and puts you back on your original plan the next month. It also means a strong quarter shows up on the bill within the month.

The two lines that are not in the subscription

Filing is the big one. AutoFile is not included in the monthly price; you get credits. Starter gets two a year, allocated once every six months. Professional gets four, allocated quarterly. After that, each return is $50 on Starter or $55 on Professional. Annual subscribers can prepay bundles of 25, 50, 100, or unlimited filings, which TaxJar prices from $1,125 to $12,000 depending on plan and bundle size without publishing the price of each bundle. The unlimited bundle covers 540 credits and expires after a year; the smaller bundles do not expire, and none of them are refundable.

Registrations are $299 per state, and only for customers already on a paid plan. TaxJar will register you where third-party fulfillment such as Amazon FBA created your nexus, but says it cannot register for nexus from other kinds of inventory storage or from employees in a state, which is the common case for a company with remote staff.

If you would rather not do the math

The reason TaxJar's total is hard to predict is that it moves with two meters you do not control: how many orders and refunds flow through, and how many returns your filing calendar generates. Zamp, which publishes this page, prices the other way: a scoped quote for a managed service where a tax team handles registrations, filings, remittance, and notices, with no per-order meter and no per-return fee. Zamp doesn't publish list prices either, so nothing here claims one is cheaper than the other. If you want a number to set beside a TaxJar quote, book a call or start with the free nexus and exposure assessment.

What it adds up to

Two worked examples, using TaxJar's published list prices and monthly billing. A small seller doing 200 orders a month who files quarterly in three states pays $468 a year for Starter, uses its two credits, and buys ten more filings at $50, so about $968 a year plus $897 in one-time registrations. A growing brand doing 1,000 orders a month that files monthly in ten states pays $5,988 a year for Professional at the 1,000-order tier, uses its four credits, and buys 116 more filings at $55, so about $12,368 a year plus $2,990 in registrations. Annual billing and a prepaid filing bundle would both bring the second number down; we cannot say by how much, because TaxJar does not publish bundle prices individually.

Both examples show the same thing: the subscription is modest, and the filing calendar is what moves the total. One TaxJar customer on G2 who files in 27 states put it plainly: the software saves him twenty hours a month, and filing is something it does "for an additional fee."

Compare features and service

The plan and service scope matter as much as the feature. Compare the allowances and responsibilities below.

Sources and check dates are linked in the table. “Not verified” means we have not confirmed the detail; it does not mean the feature is unavailable.

A closer look at each option

taxjar

1

TaxJar (by Stripe)

Published prices, metered by order volume

TaxJar homepage, September 2026
Official product homepageSee website for the latest versionVisit website ↗

Overview

TaxJar is a self-serve sales tax platform owned by Stripe. It calculates tax, tracks economic nexus, aggregates orders from commerce channels, and files returns through AutoFile. Plans are priced by monthly order volume, and filing is charged per return beyond a small annual credit allowance.

Budget the subscription from your twelve-month order count including refunds, then add $50 or $55 for every return past your credits, then $299 for each registration.

Who it fits

Ecommerce sellers with steady order volume who file in a handful of states and want a price they can read off a page.

What to check

The plan tier is the easy part. Before signing, confirm your order count including refunds and returns, how many returns your filing frequencies generate in a year, the price of the specific AutoFile bundle you would need, and who handles a state notice, since notice management and penalty coverage are not published.

Where it stands out

  • Published prices across five order tiers on both plans, with a free 30-day trial and no credit card on Starter.
  • Flex fees cover a busy month without a permanent upgrade, then return you to your plan.
  • Economic nexus tracking and reporting are included on both plans, and registrations are $299 per state.

Trade-offs to consider

  • Filing is not included: two credits a year on Starter and four on Professional, then $50 or $55 per return.
  • Every imported sale, refund, and return counts as an order, including orders in states where you do not collect and marketplace orders the facilitator already remitted.
  • Plans are priced on monthly order volume, so a seasonal spike triggers a flex fee for that month.
  • No accuracy guarantee or penalty coverage is published.
  • Registration is limited: no employee nexus, and no inventory nexus outside third-party fulfillment such as Amazon FBA.

Features and service

Plan compared

TaxJar Starter and Professional, U.S., priced by monthly order volume

Tax calculation

Real-time calculation and rate lookup API; API calls count as one tenth of an order toward the monthly limit

Nexus monitoring

Economic nexus dashboard and alerts, included on both plans

Registrations

$299 per state, paid-plan customers only; cannot register for employee nexus or non-FBA inventory nexus

Filing

AutoFile: 2 credits a year on Starter and 4 on Professional, then $50 or $55 per return, or prepaid bundles from $1,125 to $12,000

Remittance

AutoFile submits the return and remits the tax from your connected account

Support

Email support with a guaranteed response time on Starter; email and phone plus dedicated onboarding and a Customer Success Manager on Professional

Pricing and plan details

Last checked

September 18, 2026

All cited sources

$99 per month at the 200-order tier

TaxJar Professional, U.S., 200 orders per month

$99 covers 200 orders a month. The ladder continues at $249 for 500, $499 for 1,000, $1,199 for 2,500, and $1,599 for 5,000 or more. On Professional, an order is any imported sale, refund, or return, plus API tax calculations and rate lookups counted at one tenth of an order each. Go over in a month and TaxJar charges a flex fee equal to the difference between tiers, then returns you to your plan the next month.

View official pricing

Pricing source last checked

September 18, 2026

One customer's perspective

More affordable of the tax compliance software options.

Jason S.

eCommerce Engineer

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

May 5, 2026

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

Read the original review

Jason rated TaxJar 3 out of 5, naming price as the reason to choose it and slow technical support and an underdeveloped platform as the reasons to hesitate. TaxJar replied publicly. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

It is also a little misleading that the filing automation is included in the monthly cost, when in reality it is a per filing charge under most plans.

Justin M.

President

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

March 31, 2022

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

Read the original review

A 5 out of 5 review that still flags the thing most people miss when they budget for TaxJar: AutoFile is a per-return charge on top of the subscription. Dated 2022, and the plan structure it describes still matches TaxJar's published pricing. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

For an additional fee it can even do the filings for you.

Asher J.

Financial Director

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

September 9, 2025

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

Read the original review

Asher files in 27 states and rates TaxJar 5 out of 5, saying it saves 20 or more hours a month and that he prefers it to Avalara after using both. He describes filing as an add-on rather than an inclusion. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

It's difficult to reconcile between Stripe and Taxjar.

Verified User in Computer Software

Not disclosed

Mid-market (51 to 1,000 employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

August 14, 2026

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

Read the original review

A 3 out of 5 review from a mid-market software company praising fast support while flagging reconciliation friction between Stripe and TaxJar, the two products now under the same owner. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

I like that TaxJar helps us verify our sales tax setup instead of guessing.

Diego C.

Data Manager. Systems Manager

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

May 10, 2026

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Read the original review

Diego used TaxJar to check addresses and rates against SAP, while noting setup effort and occasional manual checks. G2 labels this a seller-invited, incentivized review. His workflow does not establish that a native SAP integration is included.

avalara

2

Avalara

Per-state pricing with filing included

Avalara homepage, September 2026
Official product homepageSee website for the latest versionVisit website ↗

Overview

Avalara is the largest sales tax compliance platform: AvaTax calculates tax in real time across 12,000+ U.S. jurisdictions and 190+ countries, Managed Returns files and remits, and add-ons cover registrations, exemption certificates, and tax research.

Compare on the axis that actually differs: Avalara charges per state with returns included, TaxJar charges per order with returns extra.

Who it fits

Companies collecting in a moderate number of states with high order volume, where a per-state price beats a per-order meter.

What to check

Avalara Core Compliance lists at $799 per state per year and includes Managed Returns filing and remittance. Ten states is $7,990 a year before registrations at $403 each. The same ten states on TaxJar Professional at 1,000 orders a month with monthly filings comes to roughly $12,368 a year on list prices, because 116 of the 120 returns are billed individually. Reverse the shape of the business and the answer flips: three states filing quarterly costs about $968 on TaxJar Starter against $2,397 on Avalara. Avalara does not publish the transaction limits attached to its per-state plans, so its number is a floor rather than a ceiling.

Where it stands out

  • Filing, remittance, notice management, and 50-state nexus monitoring are bundled into the per-state price.
  • Published list prices for companies under $50M in revenue, with 15% off for annual billing.
  • State-funded services in up to 25 Streamlined Sales Tax states for qualifying sellers.

Trade-offs to consider

  • Published per-state pricing is a floor: transaction limits are not published, and the terms default to an automatic upgrade to the next tier when you exceed one.
  • Fees can rise at renewal with 60 days notice, subscriptions auto-renew, and there are no mid-term downgrades or refunds for under-use.
  • The Accuracy Guarantee is capped at 12 months of AvaTax fees, excluding activation and add-on fees, and requires notice within 10 days of an assessment.
  • NetSuite, SAP, Dynamics, Salesforce, and custom API integrations require the unpriced Custom plan.
  • Dedicated support (1-hour SLA, live chat, a named preparer) is reserved for Custom and Managed Returns Premium.

Features and service

Plan compared

Avalara Core Compliance (Avalara Select), U.S., businesses under $50M revenue

Tax calculation

Real-time, rooftop-level geospatial calculation across 12,000+ U.S. jurisdictions; usage billed by a daily transaction formula

Nexus monitoring

Economic and physical nexus monitoring in all 50 states, included in Core Compliance

Registrations

Add-on at $403 per location; free in SST states for qualifying sellers

Filing

Managed Returns prepares and files; per-return fees can be re-tiered at renewal if volume falls below plan minimums

Remittance

Avalara draws tax funds from your bank account between the 11th and 14th and remits; Avalara does not advance funds

Support

Self-serve on Core plans with compliance support; dedicated staff, live chat, and a 1-hour SLA only on Custom; dedicated preparer only on Managed Returns Premium

Pricing and plan details

Last checked

September 17, 2026

All cited sources

$799 per state per year, or $79 per state per month

Avalara Core Compliance, U.S., businesses under $50M annual revenue

Priced per state you collect in. Transaction limits for the plan are not published; Avalara lists monthly transaction volume as a pricing factor, and its terms say exceeding a usage tier triggers an overage charge or an automatic upgrade to the next tier, with automatic upgrade as the default. NetSuite, SAP, Dynamics, Salesforce, and custom API integrations require the Custom plan. The Get started button leads to a sales form, not a checkout.

View official pricing

Pricing source last checked

September 17, 2026

One customer's perspective

Avalara takes the stress out of compliance and is a reasonably priced options for small companies.

Kim H.

Director of Customer Service and Sales & Use Tax Professional

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

October 30, 2025

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Kim rated Avalara 4.5/5 and called it reasonably priced for a small company, while noting that report calculations don't always match the returns, especially in Texas. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a G2 invite on behalf of the seller. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

Their support is also very responsive. I will say that it is a very expensive service.

Jordan D.

Website Manager, Retail

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

May 8, 2026

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Jordan rated Avalara 3/5: calculation plus managed returns saves hours each month and the nexus heat map is useful, but the service is very expensive and taxes remain complicated. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a G2 invite. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

The pricing model is complex and includes transaction limits, it might not scale if transaction volume increases significantly.

Verified User in Computer Software

Not disclosed

Mid-market (51 to 1,000 employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

February 11, 2025

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

A 4.5/5 review that praises ease of use, compliance coverage, and support, and flags the pricing model's transaction limits and a heavier-than-expected professional services engagement. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a seller invite. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

Software issues, lack of accountability, no real support, predatory pricing terms... They won't ensure a resolution and only about pushing you to purchase higher tiers.

Verified User in Accounting

Not disclosed

Mid-market (51 to 1,000 employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

June 3, 2026

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

A 0/5 review reporting $100k+ in reporting discrepancies in one month and pressure to buy higher tiers; Avalara responded publicly asking to discuss. Anonymous but G2-verified. One customer's experience, and the strongest negative in the recent set; included so the review sample is not only favorable.

zamp

3

Zamp

Managed service, scoped pricing

Zamp homepage, captured September 16, 2026
Official product homepageSee website for the latest versionVisit website ↗

Overview

Zamp pairs sales tax software with tax professionals. Its U.S. plan includes calculations, registrations, filings, remittance, and notice management.

Get the free assessment and a scoped quote, then set it beside a TaxJar quote that includes a full year of filings.

Who it fits

Teams that would rather not meter orders or count returns, and want registrations, filings, remittance, and notices handled by a tax team for one scoped price.

What to check

Zamp publishes this page. Its plans bundle calculation, nexus monitoring and registration, filing and remittance, and notice management with dedicated tax expertise, priced as a scoped quote rather than a published list price, so no cost comparison is made here.

Where it stands out

  • Registrations, filings, remittance, and state notices handled end to end by Zamp's tax team, per Zamp's pricing page.
  • Scoped pricing that Zamp describes as flat and predictable, with no per-order or per-return meter.
  • Zamp Commitment: penalties or interest from a Zamp-managed calculation or filing are covered, with no cap stated.

Trade-offs to consider

  • Pricing requires a scoped proposal.
  • The Free assessment and sandbox are separate from ongoing paid compliance.

Features and service

Plan compared

U.S. plan

Tax calculation

Address-level calculations

Nexus monitoring

Threshold tracking and alerts

Registrations

State registrations included

Filing

Managed preparation and filing

Remittance

Direct ACH to states

Support

Tax specialists and account manager

Pricing and plan details

Last checked

September 16, 2026

All cited sources

Contact sales — scoped to your business

U.S. plan

Scope and pricing depend on jurisdictions, entities, systems, and compliance needs. The separate Free offer is an assessment and sandbox, not the paid filing plan.

View official pricing

Pricing source last checked

September 16, 2026

One customer's perspective

Night and day experience versus our last sales tax vendor.

David Wachs

CEO and Founder

Handwrytten

Vendor-published testimonial

Review published

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Vendor-published testimonial on zamp.com's homepage; the prior vendor is not named on the page. Zamp publishes this article, so treat this as Zamp's own marketing, not an independent review.

One customer's perspective

When/if I have questions I simply email and get a quick response.

James H.

Owner

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

September 9, 2026

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Read the original review

James praised responsive support and also raised cost as a concern. G2 labels this a seller-invited review with no incentive from G2. This is one customer's experience, not a measure of typical results.

Why the same plan costs two very different amounts

Two businesses on TaxJar Professional at the 1,000-order tier pay the same $499 a month and can end the year thousands of dollars apart. The subscription is fixed; the filing calendar is not.

A company collecting in four states that file quarterly generates 16 returns a year. Four are covered by the included credits, so twelve cost $55 each: $660. A company collecting in twelve states that file monthly generates 144 returns. Four are covered, so 140 cost $55 each: $7,700. Same software, same order volume, a $7,040 difference driven entirely by filing frequency, which the states assign based on your volume in each one and which you do not choose.

This is why "how much does TaxJar cost" has no single answer, and why the slider on the pricing page only tells you about a third of the story. Count your returns before you compare plans.

Everything that counts as an order

TaxJar's meter is more inclusive than the word "order" suggests. Each sale, refund, or return imported into TaxJar counts as one order. CSV imports count by unique order ID. Orders created through the API count. API tax calculations and rate lookups count as one tenth of an order each, which only applies on Professional.

Two consequences are worth planning around. First, every imported order counts regardless of where it went or whether you collected tax on it, so international orders and orders in states where you have no nexus are on the meter. Second, marketplace orders count even when the marketplace already remitted the tax, so an Amazon-heavy seller can be paying for volume that generates no filing obligation.

A high-return category such as apparel feels this twice: the sale counts, and the refund counts again. If your return rate is 25%, your effective order count is 125% of your sales.

Flex fees, and what happens in a busy month

If you cross your tier in a given month, TaxJar charges a flex fee rather than upgrading you permanently. The fee is the difference between your plan price and the price of the tier that matches that month's volume, and you go back to your original plan the following month.

Set against a permanent upgrade, a seasonal business comes out ahead here. A Starter customer on the 500-order tier who does 900 orders in November pays the 1,000-order price of $99 that month instead of $59, a $40 difference, and is back at $59 in December. Compare that with vendors whose terms upgrade you to the higher tier for the rest of the term.

The thing to watch is that it is automatic and calculated per month, so growth shows up as a bill before it shows up as a decision. If three consecutive months trigger flex fees, you are on the wrong tier and annual billing on the correct tier is probably cheaper.

TaxJar and Avalara price different things

The two most-compared vendors in this category do not price the same unit, which is why "which is cheaper" depends entirely on the shape of your business.

Avalara Core Compliance lists at $799 per state per year, or $79 per state per month, for companies under $50M in revenue, and includes calculation, Managed Returns filing and remittance, notice management, and 50-state nexus monitoring. You pay by state, and filing is in the price. TaxJar charges by monthly order volume and bills filing separately per return.

So the comparison turns on your ratio of states to orders. Ten states, 1,000 orders a month, monthly filing: Avalara is about $7,990 a year on list price, TaxJar about $12,368. Three states, 200 orders a month, quarterly filing: Avalara is about $2,397, TaxJar about $968. Both sets of numbers are our arithmetic on published prices and exclude registrations, which are $403 per location at Avalara and $299 per state at TaxJar.

Two caveats keep this honest. Avalara does not publish the transaction limits on its per-state plans, and its terms default to an automatic tier upgrade when you exceed one, so its figure is a floor. TaxJar's figure can come down through annual billing and prepaid filing bundles, which it does not price individually.

When to consider Zamp instead

TaxJar and Zamp sell different things, and the pricing model follows from that. TaxJar is software you operate: you connect the channels, watch the nexus dashboard, decide when to register, and either file yourself or buy AutoFile credits per return. Support is email on Starter, email and phone on Professional. Notice management is not listed as an included service on either plan, and no penalty guarantee appears in the terms.

Zamp is a managed service. Its pricing page lists a paid U.S. plan covering rooftop-accurate calculation, nexus monitoring and registration, filing and remittance, end-to-end notice management, and dedicated U.S. tax expertise, plus a U.S. and Canada plan. Pricing is a scoped quote rather than a per-order meter, and the switch page says most teams are live within a week and offers a buyout program for teams still inside another vendor's contract. Under the Zamp Commitment, penalties or interest from a Zamp-managed calculation or filing are covered, with no cap stated. Those are Zamp's own claims, linked so you can read them in full.

Consider Zamp when the filing calendar is what's growing: many states, monthly frequencies, notices arriving, and a finance team spending hours on work that per-return fees only partly cover. Stay with TaxJar when you file in a few states, your volume is predictable, and you want a self-serve price on a public page. Zamp does not publish list prices, so this page makes no claim that it is cheaper. The comparison worth making is a Zamp quote against a TaxJar quote that includes a full year of returns. Book a call to get one.

How much does TaxJar cost per month?

Starter is $39 a month at 200 orders, $59 at 500, $99 at 1,000, $219 at 2,500, and $319 at 5,000 or more. Professional is $99, $249, $499, $1,199, and $1,599 at the same tiers. Annual billing saves 10% or more. Filing and registrations are charged separately.

What counts as an order in TaxJar's pricing?

Each sale, refund, or return imported into TaxJar counts as one order, including orders to any state or country whether or not you collected tax, and including marketplace orders the facilitator remitted. API tax calculations and rate lookups count as one tenth of an order each on Professional.

How much does TaxJar AutoFile cost?

Starter includes two filing credits a year, allocated every six months, and Professional includes four, allocated quarterly. Beyond those, filings are $50 each on Starter and $55 on Professional. Annual subscribers can prepay bundles of 25, 50, 100, or unlimited filings, which TaxJar prices from $1,125 to $12,000 depending on plan and bundle size. Credits and bundles are non-refundable.

Does TaxJar charge for state registrations?

Yes, $299 per state, and only for customers already on a paid plan. TaxJar can register for nexus created by third-party inventory storage such as Amazon FBA, but says it cannot register for nexus from other types of inventory storage or from employees located in a state.

What happens to TaxJar now that Stripe owns it?

TaxJar has been a Stripe company since Stripe announced the acquisition, and the wordmark on taxjar.com says so. TaxJar still sells both plans, still offers a 30-day trial, and its support articles were updated through 2026. Its pricing page also tells visitors that if they are a Stripe customer, Stripe Tax might be a good fit, and some 2026 reviewers describe friction reconciling data between Stripe and TaxJar. If you are already on Stripe, price both before choosing.

Is TaxJar cheaper than Avalara?

It depends on your ratio of states to orders. TaxJar prices by monthly order volume and bills filing per return; Avalara Core Compliance lists at $799 per state per year with filing included. On list prices, three states filing quarterly at 200 orders a month is roughly $968 a year on TaxJar against $2,397 on Avalara, while ten states filing monthly at 1,000 orders a month is roughly $12,368 on TaxJar against $7,990 on Avalara. Both figures are our arithmetic and exclude registrations.

Where to go from here

If you file in a few states and your order volume is steady, TaxJar's published price is close to the price you will pay, and the 30-day trial costs nothing to test. If your filing calendar is monthly across many states, price the returns first and the subscription second, and ask about a bundle before you sign an annual plan. If you would rather hand the whole calendar to a team and get one scoped number, talk to Zamp; the free assessment is the fastest way to get something to compare.

How we evaluate these tools

Desk research against TaxJar's pricing page, registrations product page, terms of service (last updated May 14, 2026), and support articles on plan cost, AutoFile cost, the definition of an order, and monthly order limits, all inspected on September 18, 2026. The price ladder was read by walking the slider on TaxJar's pricing page through every tier. Cost scenarios are our arithmetic on published list prices with the assumptions stated in the text. Avalara figures come from Avalara's own pricing page and terms, checked September 17, 2026. Featured reviews are quoted from G2 with links to the original and a mix of favorable and critical views on price. Claims about Zamp come from zamp.com pages read the same day. No private quotes or hands-on testing were used, and prices change, so confirm against the vendor before you budget.

Sources and verification

Sources are linked to the specific claims they support. Access dates show when we checked each source.

How much does TaxJar cost? (TaxJar Support, updated June 12, 2026)

TaxJar

Starter begins at $39 a month and Professional at $99 a month. Starter order counts are based solely on imported transactions; Professional combines imported transactions at one order each with API tax calculations and rate lookups at one tenth of an order per call. Exceeding a tier triggers a flex fee equal to the difference between tiers for that month, reverting the following month. Extra filings cost $50 per return on Starter and $55 on Professional, or discounted annual bundles of 25, 50, 100, or unlimited filings. Month-to-month or annual billing, with annual saving 10% or more.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

How much does AutoFile cost? (TaxJar Support, updated February 26, 2026)

TaxJar

AutoFile costs $50 per filing on Starter and $55 on Professional when paid as you go. Starter includes two credits per year allocated once every six months; Professional includes four allocated once per quarter. Prepaid bundles of 25, 50, 100, or unlimited filings are available to annual subscribers only and range from $1,125 to $12,000 depending on plan and bundle size. Credits and bundles are non-refundable; the unlimited annual bundle covers 540 credits and expires after one year while other bundles do not expire.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

What is an order? (TaxJar Support, updated June 5, 2024)

TaxJar

TaxJar counts each sale, refund, or return imported into the product as one order, including CSV imports counted by unique order_id and orders created through the API. API tax calculations and rate lookups count as one tenth of an order.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

What orders count toward my monthly order limit? (TaxJar Support, updated February 26, 2026)

TaxJar

All imported orders sent to any state or country count toward the monthly order limit, regardless of whether sales tax was collected. Exceeding the limit results in a flex fee equal to the price of the plan matching that month's order volume.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

TaxJar Terms of Service (last updated May 14, 2026)

TaxJar

Customers may terminate from within account settings at any time. TaxJar may terminate with 15 days notice for non-compliance or 10 days for failure to pay. TaxJar will give at least 30 days notice of price changes on the site or by email. TaxJar reserves the right to stop providing the services and states it will not refund fees already paid in those instances.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

TaxJar reviews on G2

G2

TaxJar holds a 4.7 out of 5 rating across 253 reviews as of September 18, 2026. Recent reviews describe TaxJar as the more affordable option among tax compliance tools while raising slow technical support, and note that filing is charged per return rather than included in the monthly price.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

Stripe to acquire TaxJar (Stripe newsroom)

Stripe

Stripe announced its acquisition of TaxJar. TaxJar's own site carries the wordmark 'TaxJar, a Stripe company' and its pricing page tells visitors that if they are a Stripe customer, Stripe Tax might be a good fit for their business.

Source accessed

September 18, 2026

TaxJar pricing

TaxJar

TaxJar Professional starts at USD 99 per month at the 200-order tier and includes 4 AutoFile credits per year. Additional filing charges apply.

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

State sales tax registrations

TaxJar

Registration is available to paid-plan customers for $299 per state, subject to eligibility restrictions, including employee and inventory nexus limitations.

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Sales Tax AutoFile

TaxJar

AutoFile handles return submission and tax remittance from connected commerce or ERP data.

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Avalara Select sales and use tax pricing

Avalara

Core Compliance is $79 per state per month or $799 per state per year; Core Compliance + SST Services is $69 per state per month or $699 per state per year; both require annual revenue under $50M; Custom is for $50M+ and is not priced. Lists included features, the 18 supported connectors, SST eligibility criteria, and the 24 participating states.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara pricing information

Avalara

Sales Tax Registration is $403 per location; License Guidance from $119; Tax Calculation and Returns Compliance Package pricing starts at $699; pricing factors listed as products purchased, applications integrated, transaction volume, number of states, and SST enrollment.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Zamp pricing

Zamp

The U.S. plan uses contact-sales pricing and lists calculation, nexus monitoring, registration, filing, remittance, notice management, and access to tax professionals.

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Why finance teams choose Zamp over Avalara (Zamp comparison page)

Zamp

Zamp describes itself as fully managed sales tax with dedicated experts; nexus, registrations, filings, and state notices handled end-to-end; tax professionals available by phone and email; flat, predictable pricing covering filings, registrations, and jurisdictions; most teams live within a week. Vendor-published comparison, not independent.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Switch to Zamp (migration page)

Zamp

Five-step switch: expert consultation, connect ERP and billing platforms, provide access to existing tax accounts, approve filings and registrations, scale to fully managed services. Offers a buyout program to help exit existing contracts, white-glove onboarding with a dedicated specialist, and states 97.8% of 2025 customers chose to stay. Vendor claims.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026