Avalara pricing in 2026: what it costs, what's not on the price page

Published:
September 17, 2026
Research checked:
September 17, 2026
Written by
Ari Goldstein
Head of Growth, Zamp
Avalara homepage, September 2026

Zamp publishes this page, and Zamp sells a managed sales tax service that competes with Avalara. Avalara figures come from Avalara's own pages and terms as of September 17, 2026; customer-reported costs and reviews are attributed, dated, and linked. Claims about Zamp come from Zamp's own pages and are linked as such.

In this article
H2 headers

At a glance

Avalara Core Compliance lists at $799 per state per year ($79 monthly), or $699 per state per year for SST-qualifying sellers, for companies under $50M in revenue. Registrations add $403 per location. The list price is a floor: transaction limits are not published, overages default to an automatic tier upgrade, and fees can rise at renewal on 60 days notice. Vendr puts the median Avalara contract at $16,898 a year.

For years the honest answer to "how much does Avalara cost" was "call sales." That changed. Avalara's sales and use tax pricing page now lists two plans with real numbers, both aimed at companies under $50M in revenue, and a Custom plan for everyone else.

The numbers help, but they are not the whole bill. Avalara prices by state. Usage is metered by a formula you'll find in the contract, not on the pricing page, and Avalara reserves the right to raise fees at renewal. Below: the list prices, the add-ons, the terms that change the total, what customers say they pay, and where a managed service is the better comparison. Every Avalara price and quote is from Avalara's own pages, checked on September 17, 2026, or is labeled as a third-party report.

Disclosure: Zamp publishes this page and competes with Avalara. Where Zamp comes up, the claim is linked to its source so you can check it.

Before you sign, get five things in writing from your Avalara rep, because none of them are on the pricing page. Each one is explained in the sections below.

Your transaction tier and what one transaction is. The product page and the contract define a transaction differently; ask which definition your order document uses and whether abandoned checkouts count.

What happens when you cross the tier. The default is an automatic upgrade to the next tier. Ask for the overage rate and choose deliberately.

The renewal clause. Auto-renewal, 30 days notice to exit, and price increases allowed on 60 days notice. Ask for a renewal cap in the order document.

Managed Returns minimums. File fewer returns than your plan's minimum and the per-return fee can be re-tiered upward at renewal. Ask what the minimum is.

Where the guarantee stops. The Accuracy Guarantee is capped at 12 months of AvaTax fees and has a 10-day notice window. Real, and smaller than the word suggests.

Avalara's published prices

Avalara calls its list plans Avalara Select, and both carry the same eligibility line: annual revenue under $50M. Core Compliance is $79 per state per month or $799 per state per year. Core Compliance + SST Services is $69 per state per month or $699 per state per year, for sellers who qualify as Streamlined Sales Tax volunteer sellers. Custom, for companies at $50M or more or for any integration outside the 18 Select connectors, has no published price. The plan card on this page carries the Core Compliance details; the SST plan, the Custom plan, and the registration add-on are covered below and in the FAQs.

Core Compliance includes AvaTax calculation, Managed Returns filing and remittance, notice management, nexus monitoring in all 50 states, and AvaTax Exemptions for recording exempt customers. The SST plan adds state-funded services in up to 25 Streamlined Sales Tax states, audit liaison support, and free SST registration. Avalara's "15% annual savings" claim checks out: $79 times 12 is $948 against $799.

The pricing page leaves two things out. First, the Get started button opens a form to "connect with an Avalara tax solution expert," so there is no self-serve checkout at these prices. Second, the plans support 18 named connectors (Shopify, Amazon, QuickBooks, Stripe, WooCommerce, eBay, Etsy, Walmart, TikTok, and a few others). NetSuite, SAP, Dynamics, Salesforce, and a custom API all require Custom.

What the list price comes to

Some arithmetic on Avalara's published figures, assuming annual billing on Core Compliance and one $403 registration per state. Five states is $3,995 a year plus $2,015 in one-time registrations, $6,010 in year one. Ten states is $7,990 plus $4,030, or $12,020. Twenty states is $15,980 plus $8,060, or $24,040. On the SST plan the annual software line drops to $3,495, $6,990, and $13,980 respectively, and qualifying sellers can skip registration fees in participating states. None of these figures include usage overages, because Avalara does not publish the transaction limits for these plans. Monthly billing adds about 19% over a year: five states at $79 a month is $4,740 against $3,995.

Add-ons and the prices behind them

Registration is the one add-on with a published price: $403 per location, one-time, up from $349 in 2025. License Guidance starts at $119. Everything else on the add-on list is unpriced: Exemption Certificate Management (the paid product, distinct from the free AvaTax Exemptions), Tax Research, Cross-Border, Property Tax, and Managed Returns Premium, which is the tier that gets you a dedicated compliance contact. Avalara's terms also reference activation fees, hourly rates for non-standard return forms, a fee for changing an approved return, and a credit card processing fee, none of which carry a published amount.

If you'd rather have one scoped number

Avalara's price is a per-state list price plus whatever your usage tier, add-ons, and renewal terms add. Zamp, which publishes this page, prices the other way: a scoped quote for a managed service where a tax team handles registrations, filings, remittance, and notices, with no per-state or per-transaction meter. Zamp doesn't publish list prices either, so we aren't going to tell you which one costs less; that depends on your footprint. If you want a number to put next to an Avalara quote, book a call for a scoped quote or start with the free nexus and exposure assessment. The fuller comparison comes after the contract terms.

Compare features and service

The plan and service scope matter as much as the feature. Compare the allowances and responsibilities below.

Sources and check dates are linked in the table. “Not verified” means we have not confirmed the detail; it does not mean the feature is unavailable.

A closer look at each option

avalara

1

Avalara

Software plus managed returns, priced per state

Avalara homepage, September 2026
Official product homepageSee website for the latest versionVisit website ↗

Overview

Avalara is the largest sales tax compliance platform: AvaTax calculates tax in real time across 12,000+ U.S. jurisdictions and 190+ countries, Managed Returns files and remits, and add-ons cover registrations, exemption certificates, and tax research.

Budget from the $799 per state list price, then add registrations, confirm your transaction tier and overage option in writing, and ask for a renewal cap.

Who it fits

Companies under $50M in revenue that sell through one of the 18 Select connectors and want to operate the software themselves.

What to check

What to check before signing: your transaction tier and the definition of a transaction in your order document; whether overages bill as a charge or an automatic upgrade; the renewal increase clause; Managed Returns minimums; and the Accuracy Guarantee cap.

Where it stands out

  • Published, predictable list pricing per state for companies under $50M, with 15% off for annual billing.
  • Calculation, filing, remittance, notice management, and 50-state nexus monitoring bundled in one plan.
  • State-funded services in up to 25 SST states for qualifying volunteer sellers.

Trade-offs to consider

  • Published per-state pricing is a floor: transaction limits are not published, and the terms default to an automatic upgrade to the next tier when you exceed one.
  • Fees can rise at renewal with 60 days notice, subscriptions auto-renew, and there are no mid-term downgrades or refunds for under-use.
  • The Accuracy Guarantee is capped at 12 months of AvaTax fees, excluding activation and add-on fees, and requires notice within 10 days of an assessment.
  • NetSuite, SAP, Dynamics, Salesforce, and custom API integrations require the unpriced Custom plan.
  • Dedicated support (1-hour SLA, live chat, a named preparer) is reserved for Custom and Managed Returns Premium.

Features and service

Plan compared

Avalara Core Compliance (Avalara Select), U.S., businesses under $50M revenue

Tax calculation

Real-time, rooftop-level geospatial calculation across 12,000+ U.S. jurisdictions; usage billed by a daily transaction formula

Nexus monitoring

Economic and physical nexus monitoring in all 50 states, included in Core Compliance

Registrations

Add-on at $403 per location; free in SST states for qualifying sellers

Filing

Managed Returns prepares and files; per-return fees can be re-tiered at renewal if volume falls below plan minimums

Remittance

Avalara draws tax funds from your bank account between the 11th and 14th and remits; Avalara does not advance funds

Support

Self-serve on Core plans with compliance support; dedicated staff, live chat, and a 1-hour SLA only on Custom; dedicated preparer only on Managed Returns Premium

Pricing and plan details

Last checked

September 17, 2026

All cited sources

$799 per state per year, or $79 per state per month

Avalara Core Compliance, U.S., businesses under $50M annual revenue

Priced per state you collect in. Transaction limits for the plan are not published; Avalara lists monthly transaction volume as a pricing factor, and its terms say exceeding a usage tier triggers an overage charge or an automatic upgrade to the next tier, with automatic upgrade as the default. NetSuite, SAP, Dynamics, Salesforce, and custom API integrations require the Custom plan. The Get started button leads to a sales form, not a checkout.

View official pricing

Pricing source last checked

September 17, 2026

One customer's perspective

Avalara takes the stress out of compliance and is a reasonably priced options for small companies.

Kim H.

Director of Customer Service and Sales & Use Tax Professional

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

October 30, 2025

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Kim rated Avalara 4.5/5 and called it reasonably priced for a small company, while noting that report calculations don't always match the returns, especially in Texas. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a G2 invite on behalf of the seller. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

Their support is also very responsive. I will say that it is a very expensive service.

Jordan D.

Website Manager, Retail

Small business (50 or fewer employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

May 8, 2026

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Jordan rated Avalara 3/5: calculation plus managed returns saves hours each month and the nexus heat map is useful, but the service is very expensive and taxes remain complicated. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a G2 invite. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

The pricing model is complex and includes transaction limits, it might not scale if transaction volume increases significantly.

Verified User in Computer Software

Not disclosed

Mid-market (51 to 1,000 employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

February 11, 2025

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

A 4.5/5 review that praises ease of use, compliance coverage, and support, and flags the pricing model's transaction limits and a heavier-than-expected professional services engagement. G2 labels this a validated, incentivized review from a seller invite. One customer's experience.

One customer's perspective

Software issues, lack of accountability, no real support, predatory pricing terms... They won't ensure a resolution and only about pushing you to purchase higher tiers.

Verified User in Accounting

Not disclosed

Mid-market (51 to 1,000 employees)

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

June 3, 2026

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

A 0/5 review reporting $100k+ in reporting discrepancies in one month and pressure to buy higher tiers; Avalara responded publicly asking to discuss. Anonymous but G2-verified. One customer's experience, and the strongest negative in the recent set; included so the review sample is not only favorable.

zamp

2

Zamp

Fully managed alternative, scoped pricing

Zamp homepage, captured September 16, 2026
Official product homepageSee website for the latest versionVisit website ↗

Overview

Zamp pairs sales tax software with tax professionals. Its U.S. plan includes calculations, registrations, filings, remittance, and notice management.

Get the free assessment and a scoped quote, then compare it line by line with an Avalara order document, including tier, overage, and renewal terms.

Who it fits

Teams that want registrations, filings, remittance, and notices handled by a tax team, and one scoped price instead of per-state and per-transaction metering.

What to check

Zamp publishes this page. Its plans bundle calculation, nexus monitoring and registration, filing and remittance, and notice management with dedicated tax expertise; pricing is a scoped quote, not a published list price, so no cost comparison is made here.

Where it stands out

  • Registrations, filings, remittance, and state notices handled end-to-end by Zamp's tax team, per Zamp's pricing page.
  • Scoped pricing described by Zamp as flat and predictable, with no per-state or per-transaction meter.
  • Zamp Commitment: penalties or interest from a Zamp-managed calculation or filing are covered, with no cap stated.

Trade-offs to consider

  • Pricing requires a scoped proposal.
  • The Free assessment and sandbox are separate from ongoing paid compliance.

Features and service

Plan compared

U.S. plan

Tax calculation

Address-level calculations

Nexus monitoring

Threshold tracking and alerts

Registrations

State registrations included

Filing

Managed preparation and filing

Remittance

Direct ACH to states

Support

Tax specialists and account manager

Pricing and plan details

Last checked

September 16, 2026

All cited sources

Contact sales — scoped to your business

U.S. plan

Scope and pricing depend on jurisdictions, entities, systems, and compliance needs. The separate Free offer is an assessment and sandbox, not the paid filing plan.

View official pricing

Pricing source last checked

September 16, 2026

One customer's perspective

Night and day experience versus our last sales tax vendor.

David Wachs

CEO and Founder

Handwrytten

Vendor-published testimonial

Review published

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Read the original review

Vendor-published testimonial on zamp.com's homepage; the prior vendor is not named on the page. Zamp publishes this article, so treat this as Zamp's own marketing, not an independent review.

One customer's perspective

When/if I have questions I simply email and get a quick response.

James H.

Owner

G2

Independent review platform

Review published

September 9, 2026

Source accessed

September 16, 2026

Read the original review

James praised responsive support and also raised cost as a concern. G2 labels this a seller-invited review with no incentive from G2. This is one customer's experience, not a measure of typical results.

What Avalara customers report paying

List prices are new. Most of what customers describe online predates them, and it shows what a Custom or legacy contract can look like.

Vendr, which negotiates software contracts, reported a median Avalara contract of $16,898 a year across 751 purchases as of February 2026, with a range of $3,750 to $75,376. It describes one- to three-year terms with annual prepayment as standard and says implementation fees for complex ERP deployments can reach $20,000 to $50,000. Those are Vendr's figures, not Avalara's.

A r/SalesTax thread that ran from October 2024 to January 2026 collected self-reported numbers. A Shopify merchant was quoted $7,400 a year for 15,000 transactions, filing not included. A Shopify Plus merchant paying $3,000 a year for calculation was told the legacy connector was being retired and quoted $25,000 for 100,000 transactions and $48,000 for 400,000. A four-year customer on the QuickBooks Desktop connector described a 4x increase at renewal, unannounced. In January 2026 a national drop-shipper reported a $5,000 connector fee and $288 per return. Several commenters said to expect a 20% to 50% increase after the initial term, and one advised asking whether abandoned checkouts count toward the transaction total, because on the account they managed, they did.

Not every report is negative. One tax consultant said Avalara came in as the most cost-effective of Avalara, Sovos, and Vertex for a client over $5M in revenue with 15,000 transactions, and several long-time customers said the filing itself is rarely the problem. The pattern in the complaints is the same one the contract terms predict: the bill grows through tier upgrades and renewals rather than through the base price.

How Avalara counts a transaction

This is the part of the bill most people misjudge, because Avalara describes it two different ways. The AvaTax product page says pricing is based on annual tax-calculation transactions and that "a single invoice counts as one transaction regardless of how many line items it contains." The Service-Specific Supplemental Terms define Transactions as the number of daily address validations divided by 10, plus the daily greatest of the number of documents, the number of invoice lines divided by 35, or the number of non-validation API calls divided by 10.

The Knowledge Center puts it plainly: each day, Avalara adds whichever component is highest to your total. Cross-border documents count as 1.15 transactions and customs documents as 1.75. Sandbox transactions are free; a test company created in production is not.

In practice, a business that sends one clean invoice per order will see roughly one transaction per order, which is what the marketing says. A business with long invoices or a checkout that recalculates tax on every cart change can see materially more. Ask your rep to walk through your own order flow against the contract formula before you pick a tier.

The contract terms that move the total

Avalara's general Service Terms and Conditions, effective July 24, 2026, apply on any renewal, upgrade, or purchase from January 1, 2026. Five clauses matter for your budget.

Auto-renewal: each subscription renews for a term equal to the initial term. You must give at least 30 days written notice to stop it, through the cancellation form in the Global Support Portal. Avalara must give you 90 days notice if it declines to renew.

Price increases: Avalara may raise fees for any renewal term with 60 days notice, which can arrive as an invoice. The expiration of a discount or incentive does not count as an increase.

Overages: if you exceed your usage tier, you either pay an overage charge or upgrade to the next tier. You can pick either before you cross; the default is the automatic upgrade. On a multi-year contract, an automatic upgrade applies to every remaining segment.

No downgrades: you cannot reduce your commitment during the term, you get no refund if you use less than you bought, and unused volume does not carry over.

Returns minimums: the per-return fee is set from your estimated annual returns. File fewer than your plan's minimum and Avalara may re-tier the fee upward at renewal. Avalara also reserves the right to cancel a Returns subscription and keep prepaid fees if you haven't started filing within 90 days.

The Accuracy Guarantee, read closely

Avalara's Accuracy Guarantee is real and worth understanding. If an incorrect U.S. sales tax calculation from AvaTax leads to a negative audit finding, Avalara pays the lesser of two amounts: the penalties, interest, and uncollected tax that directly result, or the AvaTax fees you paid in the 365 days before the finding. The fee base excludes activation fees, professional services, add-ons, and other one-time charges.

The conditions are strict. You must have configured your tax profile and classified your items correctly. You must notify Avalara within 10 days of the audit assessment or 45 days of first identifying the issue, whichever is earlier. You must mitigate, including rebilling customers for uncollected tax. Payment comes after all appeals and abatement options are exhausted, and you need an active subscription in good standing when you claim. If the audit covers other issues too, Avalara pays only the share attributable to its error.

A separate Returns Guarantee covers penalties and interest from Avalara's own late filing or remittance, with the same 12-months-of-fees cap. Neither guarantee covers a wrong result caused by a state's late rate update, and neither applies to the Avalara Exemptions add-on.

When to consider Zamp instead

Avalara and Zamp sell different things, and the pricing model follows from that. Avalara is software you operate, with returns as a service on top: you own the tax profile, the item classifications, the connector health, the notices, and the tier you're on. Avalara's own product page puts the median self-serve go-live at 26 days and enterprise ERP implementations at four to six months, and a dedicated compliance contact only comes with Managed Returns Premium or the Custom plan. The price is per state, metered by the transaction formula covered above, with add-ons and renewal terms on top.

Zamp is a managed service. Its pricing page lists a paid U.S. plan that bundles rooftop-accurate calculation, nexus monitoring and registration, filing and remittance, end-to-end notice management, and dedicated U.S. tax expertise, and a U.S. + Canada plan that adds GST/HST/PST/QST. Zamp's comparison page describes the pricing as flat and predictable, covering filings, registrations, and jurisdictions, and its switch page says most teams are live within a week and offers a buyout program for teams still inside another vendor's contract. Under the Zamp Commitment, if a Zamp-managed calculation or filing results in penalties or interest, Zamp covers the cost; the page states no cap. Those are Zamp's claims about itself, linked so you can read them in full.

Consider Zamp when the part of the Avalara bill that worries you is the part that isn't on the pricing page: tier upgrades, renewal increases, per-return re-tiering, and the hours your team spends on notices and connector issues. Stay with Avalara, or choose it, when you want to operate the software yourself, you need one of its 1,400 partner integrations or global coverage across 190 countries, or you qualify for state-funded SST services. Zamp does not publish list prices, so this article makes no claim that it is cheaper; the honest comparison is an Avalara order document next to a Zamp scoped quote. Book a call to get one.

How much does Avalara cost per month and per year?

Core Compliance is $79 per state per month, or $799 per state per year, which Avalara describes as a 15% saving. The Core Compliance + SST Services plan is $69 per state per month or $699 per year for sellers who qualify as SST volunteer sellers. Both are limited to companies under $50M in annual revenue. Custom plan pricing is not published. Ten states on Core Compliance, billed annually, is $7,990 a year before registrations and any usage overage.

Does Avalara have a free trial or free plan?

Avalara does not publish a free trial of AvaTax; TrustRadius and G2 both list none. Every customer gets a sandbox for testing, and Avalara offers free tools including a rate calculator, monthly rate tables, and an economic nexus self-assessment. For qualifying SST volunteer sellers, calculation, filing, remittance, and exemption services in up to 25 participating states are funded by those states.

How much does Avalara charge for sales tax registration?

$403 per location, one-time, covering form preparation, filing, and state-level registration fees. Jurisdiction fees for any forms you must file yourself are not included. Sellers who qualify for SST can register in participating states for free through AvaTax.

Who qualifies for Avalara's SST plan?

In each participating state, over the preceding 12 months: no fixed place of business for more than 30 days, under $50,000 in property, under $50,000 in payroll, and under 25% of your total property or payroll in that state. Economic nexus alone does not disqualify you. State-funded services apply only to SST-eligible transactions in the 24 listed states (plus Pennsylvania through a similar program); standard pricing applies everywhere else.

How long does Avalara take to implement?

Avalara says the median self-serve customer using a prebuilt connector goes live in 26 days including registration, and that enterprise ERP implementations such as SAP or Oracle typically take 4 to 6 months.

Where to go from here

If you sell through one of the 18 Select connectors and want to operate the software yourself, Avalara's $799 per state is a real, published starting point. Read the order document for the five items above before you sign. If you would rather hand the work to a team and get one scoped price, talk to Zamp; the free assessment is the fastest way to get a number to compare.

How we evaluate these tools

Desk research against Avalara's sales and use tax pricing page, general pricing page, AvaTax and Returns product pages, registration page, Service-Specific Supplemental Terms, general Service Terms and Conditions (effective July 24, 2026), and Knowledge Center articles on usage counting and cancellation, all inspected on September 17, 2026. Cost scenarios are our arithmetic on Avalara's published list prices and are labeled as such. Customer price reports come from a public r/SalesTax thread (October 2024 to January 2026) and Vendr's marketplace page (updated February 2026) and are attributed as third-party reports, not verified pricing. The featured reviews are quoted from G2 and linked; we picked one favorable, two mixed, and one unfavorable so the sample isn't cherry-picked on price. Anything said about Zamp comes from zamp.com pages read the same day. We did no hands-on testing and used no private quotes. Prices change; confirm against Avalara's pages before budgeting.

Sources and verification

Sources are linked to the specific claims they support. Access dates show when we checked each source.

Avalara Select sales and use tax pricing

Avalara

Core Compliance is $79 per state per month or $799 per state per year; Core Compliance + SST Services is $69 per state per month or $699 per state per year; both require annual revenue under $50M; Custom is for $50M+ and is not priced. Lists included features, the 18 supported connectors, SST eligibility criteria, and the 24 participating states.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara pricing information

Avalara

Sales Tax Registration is $403 per location; License Guidance from $119; Tax Calculation and Returns Compliance Package pricing starts at $699; pricing factors listed as products purchased, applications integrated, transaction volume, number of states, and SST enrollment.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara Service-Specific Supplemental Terms (AvaTax, Returns)

Avalara

Accuracy Guarantee pays the lesser of assessed penalties, interest, and uncollected tax or the AvaTax fees paid in the preceding 365 days, excluding activation, add-on, and one-time fees; notice due within 10 days of assessment or 45 days of identifying the issue. Transactions are counted as the daily greatest of documents, invoice lines divided by 35, or API calls divided by 10, plus address validations divided by 10. Returns per-Return fees can be re-tiered at renewal if usage falls below plan minimums.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara Service Terms and Conditions (effective July 24, 2026)

Avalara

Subscriptions auto-renew for a term equal to the initial term; customer must give 30 days written notice of non-renewal; Avalara may raise fees at renewal with 60 days notice; on exceeding a usage tier the default is automatic upgrade to the next tier; no mid-term downgrades or refunds for under-use; fees are non-cancelable.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Check AvaTax usage (Avalara Knowledge Center, updated 2025-12-28)

Avalara

Daily usage adds the highest of documents, line items divided by 35, or API calls divided by 10; cross-border documents count 1.15 and customs documents 1.75 domestic transactions; address validations count divided by 10; sandbox transactions are not billed.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara AvaTax product page

Avalara

Rooftop-level geospatial calculation across 12,000+ U.S. jurisdictions and 190+ countries; median self-serve implementation 26 days including registration; enterprise ERP implementations 4 to 6 months; sandbox included; FAQ states one invoice equals one transaction regardless of line count.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Avalara Returns product page

Avalara

Managed Returns prepares and files returns and remits from a single funding source with notice management; funds are drawn between the 11th and 14th of the month; unapproved returns auto-approve on the 10th at 5 p.m. PT; Managed Returns Premium adds a dedicated compliance contact.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

r/SalesTax: How much are you paying for Avalara's AvaTax? (2024-10 to 2026-01)

Reddit (r/SalesTax)

Self-reported price points from Avalara customers: $7.4k/yr quoted for 15,000 transactions; $3k/yr Shopify Plus calculation then quotes of $25k to $48k for 100k to 400k transactions; $288 per return reported in 2026; repeated reports of renewal increases of 20% to 50% and one 4x increase. Attributed, dated user reports, not verified pricing.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Vendr Avalara marketplace page (updated February 2026)

Vendr

Median Avalara contract value $16,898 per year with a range of $3,750 to $75,376 across 751 purchases; contracts commonly one to three years with annual prepayment; third-party estimate, not Avalara pricing.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Zamp pricing

Zamp

Zamp offers a Free tier (nexus and exposure assessment, product taxability review, expert consultation, API sandbox) and contact-sales U.S. and U.S. + Canada plans scoped to the business; the Zamp Commitment covers penalties or interest from a Zamp-managed calculation or filing.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Why finance teams choose Zamp over Avalara (Zamp comparison page)

Zamp

Zamp describes itself as fully managed sales tax with dedicated experts; nexus, registrations, filings, and state notices handled end-to-end; tax professionals available by phone and email; flat, predictable pricing covering filings, registrations, and jurisdictions; most teams live within a week. Vendor-published comparison, not independent.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026

Switch to Zamp (migration page)

Zamp

Five-step switch: expert consultation, connect ERP and billing platforms, provide access to existing tax accounts, approve filings and registrations, scale to fully managed services. Offers a buyout program to help exit existing contracts, white-glove onboarding with a dedicated specialist, and states 97.8% of 2025 customers chose to stay. Vendor claims.

Source accessed

September 17, 2026